Kinga Glyk Announces New Album, “Real Life”

Kinga Glyk: Real LifeBassist and composer Kinga Glyk has announced a new album called Real Life, which she ways will be released on January 26th. To fulfill her vision, she tapped Snarky Puppy leader and 5-time Grammy winner Michael League to produce it.

“In my first conversation with Michael, he asked me what I wanted to say through the music,” Glyk says. “I told him, I want to lead with the bass but I don’t want people to think this is just a bassist’s album. The idea was creating beautiful songs. Music can be interesting and strong enough itself to touch your heart even if there are no lyrics. I love to use music to describe my feelings and to make beautiful songs that can touch someone’s heart. You don’t necessarily think, oh, it must be a bass player who made this. It’s more about telling stories through music.”

Aside from having League on her side, Glyk is joined by aerophonist Casey Benjamin, drummer Robert “Sput” Searlight, and a handful of keyboardists: Caleb McCampbell, Julian Pollack, Nicholas Semrad, and Brett Williams.

Check out the first single from the album with “Fast Life”:

Real Life will be out on January 26th on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Real Life Track List:

  1. Fast Life
  2. Unfollower
  3. Who Cares
  4. Island
  5. Not Real
  6. Unseen Bruises
  7. Swimming in the Sky
  8. The Friend You Call
  9. That Right There
  10. Funny Bunny
  11. Sadness Does Not Last Forever
  12. Opinions

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts