Mr. Big Announces Tenth Album, “Ten”

Mr. Big: TenMr. Big has been winding down ever since the loss of drummer Pat Torpey. Last year, they began their “BIG Finish” farewell tour cycle, which will continue this summer in Europe. However, they clearly still have something to say as they’ve announced a new album called Ten that will be released on July 12th.

Torpey’s position has since been filled by Nick D’Virgilio, who joins singer Eric Martin, guitarist Paul Gilbert, and bassist Billy Sheehan. Ten serves as a tribute to Torpey, who died in 2018 from complications of Parkinson’s disease. The quartet says their tenth studio album marks a brand new sound.

“This new album doesn’t copy anything from the 9 previous studio records. Its all new stuff from scratch… this is raw, unadulterated riff rock and blues with all the Mr. Bigtrimmings,” says Martin.

“Overall, it’s about being overwhelmed with life, and realizing that you won’t win many of the battles, but still fighting to the end,” adds Gilbert. “And keeping a sense of humor about it by saying to anyone nearby, ‘Wish me good luck trying!’”

Sheehan’s sound is as big as ever. Mr. Big shared the opening track, “Good Luck Trying,” – which sounds like an amazing blend of Jimi Hendrix and Deep Purple – and the bass is kicking.

Ten is open to pre-orders on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (Apple Music and Amazon Music).

Ten Track List:

  1. Good Luck Trying
  2. I Am You
  3. Right Outta Here
  4. Sunday Morning Kinda Girl
  5. Who We Are
  6. As Good As It Gets
  7. What Were You Thinking
  8. Courageous
  9. Up On You
  10. The Frame
  11. See No Okapi (instrumental – Japan bonus track)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts