Rufus Reid Releases New Album, “Out Front”

Rufus Reid: Out FrontMotema Music just released Rufus Reid’s new album, Out Front. The album features Reid in a piano trio setting, with pianist Steve Allee and drummer Duduka Da Fonseca.

“Out Front suggests several connotations,” Rufus explains. “In addition to being ‘out front’ as the leader, my playing in this setting is somewhat atypical in that this music stretches far beyond the bebop boundaries for which I have received recognition in the past. The interaction with these uniquely talented gentlemen and the outcome of this music is a direct result of my dedication to my own continuing compositional and harmonic growth and adventurous spirit. It is fueled by my desire to continue to stretch and grow artistically with every original piece I conceive and with every recording I make.”

Preview and download Out Front

Out Front Track List:

1. Caress the Thought
2. Reminiscing
3. Glory
4. Dry Land (Check out the free download for this track)
5. Dona Maria
6. Rise of the Row, The
7. Ebony
8. Crying Blues
9. If You Could See Me Now

Want to know what has been influencing Rufus Reid lately? Check out his appearance in his What’s Spinning? column.

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts