Rufus Reid Releases “Hues of a Different Blue”

Rufus Reid: Hues of a Different BlueJazz bassist Rufus Reid has teamed up once again with pianist Steve Allee and drummer Duduka Da Fonseca for Hues of a Different Blue, a 14-track album that also features the talents of saxophonists JD Allen and Bobby Watson, trumpeter Freddie Hendrix, and Brazilian guitarist Toninho Horta. The songs are a nice combination of Reid’s originals with standards mixed in, all of which Reid picked specifically for the musicians.

“In designing these arrangements, my goal was to feature the unique sound of the trio and the unique voice of each guest, in unexpected ways that would offer a new musical experience for each player, and an exciting new surprise for you as well,” the bassist explained. “I’m delighted with the results and hope you will be too.”

Preview and download Hues of a Different Blue:

Hues of a Different Blue Track List:

  1. It’s the Nights I Like
  2. Candango
  3. When She Smiles Upon Your Face
  4. Francisca
  5. Come Rain or Come Shine
  6. These Foolish Things
  7. Lower Burellian Bicycle Loop
  8. The Eloquent One
  9. Manhattan Style
  10. Memories of You
  11. Mother and Child
  12. Summer’s Shadow
  13. I Can’t Explain
  14. Hues of a Different Blue

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts