Chris Squire and Steve Hackett Release “Life Within A Day”

Chris Squire & Steve Hackett: Life Within A DayLife Within A Day, the long-awaited album by the duo of Chris Squire and Steve Hackett – otherwise known as “Squackett” – is out this week.

As we reported in January, Squire and Hackett had been planning an album for years, and it took over four years to make.

Squire, the legendary Yes bassist since 1969 and Hackett, who gained prominence in Genesis before going solo, first met when Squire was working on his solo album, Swiss Choir. During those sessions, the idea of Squackett was born.

“After that we started writing together, and then I realized Steve actually was a pretty good singer,” Squire told Billboard. “Our voices blend really, really well, so there’s quite a bit of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young-type harmony stuff on the Squackett album as well as some pretty heavy-duty bass and guitar playing. It’s a lot of good elements, and it sounds very good.”

“It was very much about a bunch of pals swapping notes and anecdotes,” says Hackett “I think the material is simple and direct.”

Life Within A Day is available on CD and digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Preview and download Life Within A Day:

Life Within A Day Track List:

  1. A Life Within a Day
  2. Tall Ships
  3. Divided Self
  4. Aliens
  5. Sea of Smiles
  6. The Summer Backwards
  7. Storm Chaser
  8. Can’t Stop the Rain
  9. Perfect Love Song

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts