the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Donny Hathaway’s Live and In Performance Reissued

Donny Hathaway: Live + In PerformanceShout! Factory has brought back two albums by soul artist Donny Hathaway with the release of Live + In Performance, a two-disc set out this week. While the two albums in this combined set were big hits at the time they were released, they’d fallen out of print in the U.S.

Both albums feature Willie Weeks on bass, including Weeks’ epic solo on “Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything)”.

Hathaway’s 1972 release Live! was one of the best of his career. Recorded live at both The Troubadour in Los Angeles and The Bitter End in New York, the band was in top form, as was the audience.

In Performance, released after Hathaway’s death in 1979, was recorded live at The Troubadour, The Bitter End and Carnegie Hall. The album was released a year later.

The new set includes a introduction written by Hathaway’s daughter, R&B and Jazz singer Lalah Hathaway, and the liner notes we written by author David Ritz.

Disc 1: Live Track List:

  1. What’s Goin’ On
  2. The Ghetto
  3. Hey Girl
  4. You’ve Got A Friend
  5. Little Ghetto Boy
  6. We’re Still Friends
  7. Jealous Guy
  8. Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything)

Disc 2: In Performance Track List:

  1. To Be Young, Gifted And Black
  2. A Song For You
  3. Nu-Po
  4. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
  5. We Need You Right Now
  6. Sack Full Of Dreams

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

1 comment

Share your thoughts