Kyle Eastwood Releases “The View From Here”

Kyle Eastwood: The View From HereKyle Eastwood has released his sixth album as a band leader, entitled The View From Here. The effort comes 15 years after his solo debut, From There To Here, and serves as a sonic representation of his experiences and perspectives.

View From Here is a good bookend to my first album and also reflects that we are looking at a view from somewhere else,” Eastwood told The Telegraph. “The album is also about different cultures and travels. We recorded it at La Buissone Studio in France, which is very modern and set up well for jazz. There is north and west African music in the album, the sort of sounds which are strong in French society.”

Eastwood tapped a group of London-based musicians for the record, including pianist Andrew McCormack, tenor saxophonist Graeme Blevins, trumpeter Quentin Collins, and drummer Martyn Kaine. Three of the four players were also on the bassist’s previous album, and their familiarity with each other’s playing is more than evident in the solid groove they create.

The View From Here is out now on CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Here’s the group playing “From Rio to Havana”:

The View From Here Track List:

  1. From Rio To Havana
  2. For M.E
  3. The View From Here
  4. Sirocco
  5. Luxor
  6. Une nuit au Senegal
  7. The Way Home
  8. The Promise
  9. Mistral
  10. Summer Gone
  11. Route de la Buissonne

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Now that’s bass play’in. Good job Kyle!

  2. Clint Eastwood’s son, Kyle, on bass. He’s been at it for many years. His dad is a jazz head, too.