Linda Oh Releases “Sun Pictures”

Linda Oh: Sun PicturesJazz bassist Linda Oh has returned with her third solo album, entitled Sun Pictures. While the effort’s title is taken from an historic outdoor movie theater in her sister’s hometown of Broome, Australia, its concept is based on the bassist’s journeys abroad.

“Each one of these tunes is a tiny snapshot of my recent travels and of my experiences playing music,” Oh shared. “I think it’s a good process to keep writing even when you’re traveling and working and playing. It gets a bit tough when you have to run from one city to another, but I always try to find the time.”

Sun Pictures was recorded as part of a free session at Columbia University’s jazz radio station WKCR in New York City. In that small space, the bassist was joined by drummer Ted Poor, saxophonist Ben Wendel and guitarist James Muller. The gathering of talent was a chance occurrence that Oh had been working to get together for sometime and finally their schedules all lined up.

“I thought we would all work really well together,” she said. “The stars just aligned.”

The songs on Sun Pictures range from airy and mysterious to tense and urgent. Check out the video for “Blue Over Gold,” which was inspired by the work of Australian painter Mark Rothko:

Sun Pictures is out now on CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Sun Pictures Track List:

  1. Shutterspeed Deams
  2. Polyphonic HMI
  3. Footfall
  4. Blue Over Gold
  5. Yoda
  6. Terminal 3
  7. 10 Minutes Till Closing

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts