Megadeth Releases Countdown To Extinction: Live

Megadeth: Countdown to Extinction: LiveLast year, Megadeth celebrated the 20th anniversary of their iconic album Countdown to Extinction with a reissue and tour during which the band played the the whole thing in order.

One year later, the group has released Countdown To Extinction: Live, a snapshot of the anniversary tour that was captured at the Fox Theatre in Los Angeles in December 2012.

Available on CD, DVD and digital audio (iTunes and Amazon MP3), the new release features founding members Dave Mustaine and David Ellefson, who were also on the original Countdown album, as well as drummer Shawn Drover and guitarist Chris Broderick.

Ellefson previously named the original 1992 release as one of his favorites in the Megadeth catalog, saying “Musically, I think it brought together the best of thrash, the melodic part, writing big, hooky riffs. But more importantly… is it was a really cool time when the four of us were really, probably, our most connected together as a band.”

Megadeth plays the classic album in its entirety on Countdown To Extinction: Live including “Skin O’ My Teeth,” “Symphony of Destruction,” and “Sweating Bullets,” but they go above and beyond by flanking it with other classic songs ranging from “Trust” to “Peace Sells… But Who’s Buying?”

Countdown to Extinction: Live Track List:

  1. Intro
  2. Architecture Of Aggression
  3. Ashes In Your Mouth
  4. Captive Honour
  5. Countdown To Extinction
  6. Foreclosure Of A Dream
  7. Hangar 18
  8. High Speed Dirt
  9. Holy Wars
  10. Peace Sells
  11. Psychotron
  12. Public Enemy
  13. She Wolf
  14. Skin O’ My Teeth
  15. Sweating Bullets
  16. Symphony Of Destruction
  17. This Was My Life
  18. Trust
  19. Outro

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts