Chicago Reissues “Live in Japan”

Chicago: “Live in Japan” ReissueChicago fans, you can finally get your hands on a newer CD version of the band’s famed Live in Japan album, courtesy of a Rhino Records reissue.

The record, culled from three June 1972 performances in Japan, originally came out on vinyl in the mid-1970s and was released only in Japan. It reappeared, on CD in the U.S. in the 1990s, but has been of out of print for over a decade.

The band, which only ranks behind The Beach Boys in Billboard chart success for American groups, featured a lineup in 1972 beloved to many, with singer-songwriter-bassist Peter Cetera and singer-songwriter/guitarist and sometime bassist Terry Kath propelling the group.

Check out this archival footage of the band during the tour, with Cetera on lead vocals and bass on “Questions 67 and 68” and sporting lots and lots of hair. The sound quality isn’t the greatest, but it’s an awesome time capsule.

Live in Japan is available on CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Live in Japan Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Dialogue Pt. I & II
  2. A Hit by Varse
  3. Lowdown
  4. State of the Union
  5. Saturday in the Park
  6. Ballet for a Girl in Buchannon
  7. Make Me Smile
  8. So Much to Say, So Much to Give
  9. Anxiety’s Moment
  10. West Virginia Fantasies
  11. Colour My World
  12. To Be Free
  13. Now More Than Ever
  14. Beginnings
  15. Mississippi Delta City Blues

Disc 2:

  1. A Song for Richard and His Friends
  2. Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is? (Free Form Intro)
  3. Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?
  4. Questions 67 and 68
  5. 25 or 6 to 4
  6. I’m a Man
  7. Free

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts