the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

The Roots Release “…And Then You Shoot Your Cousin”

The Roots: ...And Then You Shoot Your CousinThe Roots’ latest, …And Then You Shoot Your Cousin is one of the group’s shortest efforts while still being a conceptual piece focusing on self-destructive cycles.

With the low end provided by bassist Mark Kelley, the record is a deep, different offering from the group, which is now on its 14th album. The group’s drummer and bandleader Questlove even goes so far as to call it The Roots’ first opera or, when referring to a theatrical presentation of the record, “a live art piece set to music.”

While you heard some of the record in that piece, you can take in a bit more during “Understand”:

…And Then You Shoot Your Cousin is available on CD and vinyl and as digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3.)

…And Then You Shoot Your Cousin Track List:

  1. Theme From Middle of the Night
  2. Never [featuring Patty Crash]
  3. When the People Cheer [featuring Modesty Lycan]
  4. The Devil
  5. Black Rock [featuring Dice Raw]
  6. Understand [featuring Dice Raw]
  7. Dies Irae
  8. The Coming [featuring Mercedes Martinez]
  9. The Dark (Trinity) [featuring Dice Raw]
  10. The Unraveling [featuring Raheem DeVaughn]
  11. Tomorrow [featuring Raheem DeVaughn]