Roger Waters Reissue Arrives; Concert Film Due in Theaters in September

Roger Waters: Amused to Death

Although Roger Waters released Amused to Death in 1992, its look at an entertainment-obsessed society still rings true, which helps make the remastered version of the album even more powerful.

The record, featuring a slew of bassists (Waters, John Patitucci, Guo Yi, Tim Pierce, John Pierce, Randy Jackson, and Jimmy Johnson) has been given a new 5.1 surround sound remix for Blu-ray and a new stereo mix as well.

Waters offers a pretty fine rundown himself of the album’s themes, remix and remaster. (Watch out for the NSFW f-bombs Waters drops throughout the piece):

The reissued record will likely whet appetites for the Roger Waters The Wall film set to hit theaters worldwide on September 29. Waters, former bassist and songwriter for Pink Floyd, performed the psychologically and musically intense 1979 Floyd album in spectacular fashion on a huge, extremely successful tour that ran from 2010 to 2013.

Just take a look at the mind-blower of a trailer for the film, which Waters co-directed:

The film event will also include an interview with Waters and Pink Floyd drummer Nick Mason, where the two answer fan questions.

For more info about the film, check out Roger Waters The Wall.

Amused to Death is available as a CD/Blu-ray box set, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Amused to Death Track List:

  1. The Ballad of Bill Hubbard
  2. What God Wants, Pt. I
  3. Perfect Sense, Pt. I
  4. Perfect Sense, Pt. II
  5. The Bravery of Being Out of Range
  6. Late Home Tonight, Pt. I
  7. Late Home Tonight, Pt. II
  8. Too Much Rope
  9. What God Wants, Pt. II
  10. What God Wants, Pt. III
  11. Watching TV
  12. Three Wishes
  13. It’s a Miracle
  14. Amused to Death

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts