Teen Blues Brothers Make a Big Sound on Debut Album

The Peterson BrothersEmerging blues teen titans The Peterson Brothers have released their first, self-titled, album on Blue Point Records.

The pair, who hail from near Austin, Texas, have been making a name for themselves on the blues circuit for five years, after really being discovered at Pinetop Perkins’ 97th birthday celebration at Antone’s in Austin.

The younger brother, Alex, 16, plays a 5-string bass and cites Victor Wooten, Larry Graham, Bootsy Collins, Ron Carter, Louis Johnson, and James Jamerson among his many influences. His elder brother, Glenn, plays guitar and handles the vocals.

The duo’s album combines blues classics like Albert King’s “You’re My Woman,” with a few of their own originals.

Here are the brothers in action in a live performance from earlier this year:

The Peterson Brothers is available on CD and as a digital download through CD Baby.

The Peterson Brothers Track List:

  1. You’re My Woman
  2. If You Love Me Like You Say
  3. Hey Baby
  4. I Wouldn’t Treat a Dog (The Way You Treated Me)
  5. Don’t You Lie to ME
  6. I Gotta Go (Shuffle Version)
  7. Tell Me Everything
  8. Come On
  9. Feelin’ Like Home (Instrumental)
  10. Amazing Grace
  11. I Gotta Go (Swing Version)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts