the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Fates Warning Releases First Studio Album in Three Years

Fates Warning: Theories of FlightFates Warning has released its twelfth studio album, Theories of Flight, the band’s followup to 2013’s Darkness in a Different Light.

The progressive metal band features Joey Vera, also of Armored Saint, on bass. In an interview with, Vera said for the album, each band member recorded their parts separately, often near or at their homes, based on demos created by primary songwriter Jim Matheos. Vera adds that he hears vocal demos early in the process, so he can hear the melody, which is essential for him, because he considers himself a melodic player.

And check out the album opener, “From the Rooftops”:

Theories of Flight is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Theories of Flight Track List:

(Limited Edition CD/vinyl, featuring a second disc of acoustic material):

Disc 1:

  1. From the Rooftops
  2. Seven Stars
  3. SOS
  4. The Light and Shade of Things
  5. White Flag
  6. Like Stars Our Eyes Have Seen
  7. The Ghosts of Home
  8. Theories of Flight

Disc 2:

  1. Firefly
  2. Seven Stars
  3. Another Perfect Day
  4. Pray Your Gods
  5. Adela
  6. Rain

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,


Share your thoughts