Trevor Dunn Anchors New John Zorn Album

John Zorn: The Garden of Earthly DelightsComposer John Zorn has released the sixth album with his 21st-century ensemble Simulacrum, called The Garden of Earthly Delights. The powerhouse band is comprised of bassist Trevor Dunn, keyboardist John Medeski, drummer Kenny Grohowski, guitarist Matt Hollenberg, and vocalist Sara Serpa.

The exploratory album celebrates the 500th anniversary of the death of renowned painter Hieronymus Bosch. “A visionary of unparalleled power whose imagination and fantastical creations re- main uniquely his own, Bosch is one of the most enigmatic figures in world art,” a press release states. “Inspired by his surreal visions of Heaven and Hell, “The Garden of Earthly Delights” blends heavy metal, blues, funk, jazz and modern classical music together into one of the strangest amalgams you’ve ever heard.”

Dunn’s playing follows that same gamut of styles with bass lines ranging from big, warm padding to gritty, angular streams of consciousness. The Garden of Earthly Delights is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Garden of Earthly Delights Track List:

  1. Angels and Devils
  2. The Infernal Machine
  3. The Dragon Tree
  4. Paean to the Prince of Hell
  5. Music of the Flesh
  6. Eve and Adam
  7. Mirror Image
  8. The Garden of Earthly Delights
  9. The Circuit
  10. Out of the Eternal Sphere

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts