Neil Young Releases “Roxy: Tonight’s The Night Live”

Neil Young: Roxy: Tonight's the Night LiveNeil Young’s “Ditch” era after the success of 1972’s Harvest produced some of the most emotionally heavy and raw music of his career. Central to the set of albums referred to as the “Ditch Trilogy” is 1975’s Tonight’s the Night, a reflection on drug abuse and the loss of his friends. Guitarist Danny Whitten and roadie Bruce Berry had both overdosed on heroin in 1972 and 1973, respectively. One listen to the album lets you know just how deeply Young was hurting.

Now the legendary songwriter has released a live performance of the album from that era. Roxy: Tonight’s the Night Live captures Young with his Santa Monica Flyers band, including pedal steel player Ben Keith, multi-instrumentalist Nils Lofgren, bassist Billy Talbot, and drummer Ralph Molina. Fans will recognize Talbot and Molina as the rhythm section for Crazy Horse.

“We had finished recording [the record] and decided to celebrate with a gig at a new club opening on the Sunset Strip, the Roxy,” Young writes in the liner notes. “We just played them again, the album, top to bottom, two sets a night for a few days. We had a great time.”

The songs are broken up by the singer’s witty banter, while the album ends with “Walk On” from Young’s next album, On The Beach. Check out “Speakin’ Out”:

Roxy: Tonight’s the Night Live is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Roxy: Tonight’s the Night Live Track List:

  1. Intro
  2. Tonight’s The Night
  3. Roll Out The Barrel
  4. Mellow My Mind
  5. World On A String
  6. Band Intro
  7. Speakin’ Out
  8. Candy Bar Rap
  9. Albuquerque
  10. Perry Como Rap
  11. New Mama
  12. David Geffen Rap
  13. Roll Another Number (For The Road)
  14. Candy Bar 2 Rap
  15. Tired Eyes
  16. Tonight’s The Night – Part II
  17. Walk On
  18. Outro

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts