Neil Young Unearths Lost Album, “Toast”, with Crazy Horse

Neil Young: ToastNeil Young has released another album from his vault. Toast was recorded in 2001 with the original Crazy Horse lineup – including bassist Billy Talbot – before cutting 2002’s Are You Passionate? with Booker T. And the M.G.’s – with bass legend Donald “Duck” Dunn.

As such, four of the songs are original takes of songs from the latter album in a decidedly more rock orientation. Talbot’s bass work is supportive with syncopation to keep the rhythm going. One of the previously unreleased tracks is the 10-minute epic “Gateway of Love”, which leans towards surf-rock. Talbot’s girthy bass tone and unmistakable groove give the jam sections their life.

Toast is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Toast Track List:

  1. Quit
  2. Standing In the Light Of Love
  3. Goin’ Home
  4. Timberline
  5. Gateway of Love
  6. How Ya Doin’?
  7. Boom Boom Boom

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts