Neil Young and Crazy Horse Release “Way Down in the Rust Bucket”

Neil Young: Way Down in the Rust BucketNeil Young has released another gem from his archive called Way Down in the Rust Bucket. The live album and concert film captures the songwriter and Crazy Horse, featuring bassist Billy Talbot, live in 1990 shortly after the release of Ragged Glory. It was a period of rejuvenation for the group that is clearly translated into their spirited performance.

“In true Crazy Horse fashion, the incendiary show ran across three sets and over three hours, with songs like ‘Love and Only Love’ and ‘Like a Hurricane’ hypnotically stretching past ten minutes,” the description states. “The Catalyst gig also marked the first time ‘Danger Bird’ — a cut from Young’s 1975 album Zuma — was played for a live audience, thundering on into psychedelic six-string fireworks.”

Talbot delivers rock-solid bass lines and backup vocals to fill out both the top and bottom of the music. Check out this clip of “Country Home”:

Way Down in the Rust Bucket is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Way Down in the Rust Bucket Track List:

  1. Country Home
  2. Surfer Joe and Moe the Sleaze
  3. Love to Burn
  4. Days That Used to Be
  5. Bite the Bullet
  6. Cinnamon Girl
  7. Farmer John
  8. Over and Over
  9. Danger Bird
  10. Don’t Cry No Tears
  11. Sedan Delivery
  12. Roll Another Number (For the Road)
  13. Fuckin’ Up
  14. T-Bone
  15. Homegrown
  16. Mansion on the Hill
  17. Like a Hurricane
  18. Love and Only Love
  19. Cortez the Killer

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts