Live Ted Nash Quintet Album Features Rufus Reid

Ted Nash: Live At Dizzy's Club Coca-ColaSaxophonist Ted Nash has released Live At Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola, which marks his first live album in 25 years. Wielding the sax, clarinet, flute, and piccolo, the jazz composer gets to show off his improv chops in a smaller ensemble (opposed to his big band charts) with his close musical friends. Legendary bassist Rufus Reid anchors the album.

“It was a wonderful opportunity to make music again with many of my favorite musicians,” Nash writes in the liner notes. “I have known Rufus Reid since I was 24, when we recorded an album featuring my mother and father (which never was released). Rufus always plays with tremendous instinct and flexibility and brings decades of experience to the music. Rufus appeared on my ‘Mancini Project’ album (Palmetto).”

The rest of the band is filled out by Warren Wolf, Gary Versace, and Matt Wilson. Together the quintet tackle songs by Chick Corea, Thelonious Monk, Herbie Nichols, Johnny Mandel, and Henry Mancini. Of course, Nash includes a pair of his original compositions, which he says were put into an entirely new context by the group.

Check out the album opener, “Organized Crime”:

Live at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Live At Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola Track List:

  1. Organized Crime
  2. Windows
  3. Spinning Song
  4. Epistrophy
  5. Emily Introduction
  6. Emily
  7. Sisters
  8. Baby Elephant Walk

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts