Kristo Rodzevski Releases “The Rabbit and The Fallen Sycamore”

Kristo Rodzevski: The Rabbit and The Fallen SycamoreSinger-songwriter Kristo Rodzevski has released The Rabbit and the Fallen Sycamore, which is the third in a trilogy of albums examining his transition from his life in Macedonia to the United States. Each of the albums also utilized a crack team of improvising musicians, including Michael Blanco on the bass. Blanco’s jazz influence comes through even though the songs lean more towards rock bass lines. He anchors most of the album on electric bass while switching to double bass on a few tracks including “Wire”, which has a melodic bass intro.

The rest of the band includes guitarist Mary Halvorson, drummer Tomas Fujiwara, pianist Kris Dave, saxophonist Ingrid Laubrock, and trombonist Brian Drye. Another collaborator on the project is legendary bassist and producer Bill Laswell, who mixed the album. “The bubbling inventions are spontaneous performances without overdubs,” a press release states. “Once the group selected the best material, Laswell was called in to shape all. In a great sense, Laswell’s touch (and ears) provide the sonic and musical template for the album. He is celebrated as a lover of musical hybrids and cross-pollinations.”

The Rabbit and the Fallen Sycamore is available now as a digital download.

The Rabbit and the Fallen Sycamore Track List:

  1. Polyester Suit
  2. Bucharest, 1913
  3. Your Name
  4. Madadayo
  5. Octopus
  6. Meet Me Online
  7. Out Of Key
  8. Wire
  9. Varanasi
  10. The Rabbit and the Fallen Sycamore

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts