The Gorillaz Return with “The Now Now”

The Gorillaz: The Now NowThe Gorillaz have always had great bass lines for their songs, and that doesn’t change on their new album The Now Now. The album, which leans more on dance and electronica, features James Ford laying down much of the instrumentals including bass. Jamaican roots/reggae bassist Junior Dan returned to the fold to play on the song “Sorcererz”. He was a member of the “Phase One” lineup and played on the debut album.

Main songwriter Damon Albarn also recruited a few guest artists for the effort including George Benson, Snoop Dogg, and Jamie Principle. Hear the latter two on the track “Hollywood”:

As we previously shared, the animated band’s bassist Murdoc Niccals is in jail and has been replaced by Powderpuff Girls character Ace. The band will be on tour for the next few months with Seye Adeleken performing the live bass parts.

The Now Now is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Now Now Track List:

  1. Humility (Feat. George Benson)
  2. Tranz
  3. Hollywood (feat. Snoop Dogg & Jamie Principle)
  4. Kansas
  5. Sorcererz
  6. Idaho
  7. Lake Zurich
  8. Magic City
  9. Fire Flies
  10. One Percent
  11. Souk Eye

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts