The Stanley Clarke Band Releases “The Message”

Stanley Clarke Band: The MessageThe Stanley Clarke Band has returned with a new album entitled The Message, which follows up their 2010 self-titled album. It also marks 45 years since the bass master’s debut solo album.

The band lineup has changed since the previous album, but Clarke has kept the stable of Cameron Graves, Beka Gochiashvili, and Mike Mitchell for several years now. “I’m very excited about our work on this album. I wanted to include some of my band members’ contributions and the result is an album that is funky, melodic, musical, contemporary and fresh with a rich multi-genre influence,” the bassist shared. “The guys in this band are consummate young musicians with musical spirits that are very old.”

Get a taste of their collaboration with the track “Alternative Facts”:

Additionally, Clarke tapped special guests rapper Doug E. Fresh and trumpeter Mark Isham. Fresh shows up on the track “And Ya Know We’re Missing You”, which is a funky homage to Clarke’s friends and musical heroes that passed recently: Leon Ndugu Chancler, Darryl Brown, Al Jarreau, Tom Petty, Chuck Berry and Larry Coryell. On the opposite side of the spectrum, Clarke also performs the Prelude from Bach’s first cello suite.

The Message is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Message Track List:

  1. And Ya Know We’Re Missing You: Dedicated To Leon Ndugu Chancler, Darryl Brown, Al Jarreau, Tom Petty, Chuck Berry & My Good Friend Larry Coryell
  2. After the Cosmic Rain/Dance of the Planetary Prince
  3. The Rugged Truth
  4. Combat Continuum
  5. The Message
  6. Lost in a World
  7. Alternative Facts
  8. Bach Cello Suite 1 (Prelude)
  9. The Legend of the Abbas and the Sacred Talisman
  10. Enzo’s Theme
  11. To Be Alive

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts