Martin Nevin Releases Debut Solo Album, “Tenderness is Silent”

Martin Nevin: Tenderness is SilentComposer and double bassist Martin Nevin has worked with some of the top jazz musicians of our times: Albert “Tootie” Heath, Greg Osby, Ethan Iverson, and Ambrose Akinmusire, and more. Now he’s stepping out front with his debut album as a leader, entitled Tenderness is Silent.

While Nevin is known for his jazz work, his new release doesn’t fit neatly into any one genre. The instrumentation and vocabulary leans toward jazz, but the through-composed nature of the songs is more closely related to classical music.

“While at times delving into dark moods and atmospheres, the album is ultimately shaped by an overarching optimism,” a press release explains. “The album name, ‘Tenderness is Silent’ (titled after a poem by Anna Akhmatova), refers to the inadequacy of words in expressing the most important and deepest of all feelings. When love is present it is unmistakable, inexpressible, and silent. The music occupies that silence.”

You can hear Nevin’s emotions expressed in this clip of “Sculpting in Time”:

Tenderness is Silent is available now as a digital download (Amazon MP3 and Bandcamp).

Tenderness is Silent Track List:

  1. Tenderness is Silent
  2. Egon
  3. Grasp at Nothing
  4. Its Own Brief Bloom
  5. As When I Was Not Yet
  6. The First of Many Exits
  7. Without Throat to Carry
  8. Sculpting in Time
  9. In Wax
  10. A Hundred Years of Talk
  11. I See it Feelingly
  12. Tenderness is Silent (Reprise)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts