Ben Allison’s “Quiet Revolution” Gets Wide Release

Ben Allison: Quiet RevolutionPreviously only available on vinyl, Ben Allison’s 2016 release, Quiet Revolution, is now available on CD and digital formats. The trio album features guitarist Steve Cardenas and saxophonist/clarinetist Ted Nash in a subtle setting that pays homage to the work of jazz greats Jim Hall and Jimmy Giuffre.

“Those records were made in the late ’50s, through the ’60s and into the ’70s,” Allison told us back in 2016. “In those years, jazz was often colossal and kind of aggressive, and rock was super huge with stadium-size concerts. While this was happening Jimmy Giuffre was doing this very stripped down, almost classical chamber jazz drummerless trios. As harmonies were getting denser and Wayne Shorter was stacking chords on top of each other, Jimmy was writing triadic based folk music.”

You can hear that style with Allison’s unique bass approach on “Pony Express”:

Quiet Revolution is available now on CD and as a digital download through iTunes and Allison’s website.

Quiet Revolution Track List:

  1. Move It
  2. Careful
  3. All Across the City
  4. The Train and the River
  5. Waltz New
  6. Bimini
  7. Lookin’ Up
  8. Pony Express
  9. Sleeping Tiger
  10. The Truth is Stranger Than Fiction
  11. Balata
  12. Love Theme from Spartacus

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts