Ben Allison Completes Remastered Series with “Action Refraction”

Ben Allison: Action Refraction (Remastered)Ben Allison has just released the fifth and final part of his “Remastered Series 2004-2011,” which presents his albums from the era with new clarity. Action Refraction was first released in 2011 as the jazz bassist and composer’s version of a “covers” record.

“Meticulously remixed and remastered by Ben, ‘Action Refraction (Remastered)’ is a mixtape featuring re-imagined versions of classic tunes by Donny Hathaway, PJ Harvey, Thelonious Monk, Samuel Barber, Neil Young, and The Carpenters, along with two original compositions by Ben,” a press release explains. “‘Broken’ is a reworking of Ben’s tune Broke from the 2009 album Think Free, while the previously unreleased, fully improvised track ‘Free Someday (Remastered)’ is included here for the first time.”

Allison’s creative arrangements and nimble bass work make for beautiful versions of popular songs. Check out his take on The Carpenters hit “We’ve Only Just Begun,” which kicks off with a cooking bass line.

Action Refraction (Remastered) is streaming now on iTunes and Amazon MP3 with downloads available through Allison’s website.

Action Refraction (Remastered) Track List:

  1. Jackie-ing
  2. Missed
  3. Someday We’ll All Be Free
  4. Philadelphia
  5. St Ita’s Vision
  6. We’ve Only Just Begun
  7. Broken
  8. Free Someday

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts