Reverend Horton Heat Releases “Whole New Life”

Reverend Horton: Heat Whole New LifeReverend Horton Heat is back with Whole New Life, a record that finds the band with a new drummer and a quartet configuration. Frontman Jim Heath hired pianist Matt Jordan to flesh the band out with “the pomp and power of Jerry Lee Lewis and Little Richard.” As always, longtime bassist Jimbo Wallace lays it on thick with his signature upright slap style.

“I love playing with these guys, it truly is a whole new band, so the title fits perfectly,” Heath says of the band. “Additionally, a year before I started piecing this together I worked especially hard on my singing voice. Whole New Life brought out something in me where I am screaming more and making more throaty sounds. It’s got some Louisiana feel to it, a bit of gruff and some Roy Orbison style in it. We tested out new tracks on our most recent tour and they are working better with the audience than any new songs we premiered since the early days of the band.”

Check out the band’s new sound on the title track, “Whole New Life”:

Whole New Life is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Whole New Life Track List:

  1. Whole New Life
  2. Hog Tyin’ Woman
  3. Hate To See You Cry
  4. Got It In My Pocket
  5. Don’t Let Go of Me
  6. Ride Before the Fall
  7. Tchoupitoulas Street
  8. Sunrise Through the Power Lines
  9. Wonky
  10. Perfect
  11. Viva Las Vegas

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts