Scott Ambush Anchors Spyro Gyra’s “Vinyl Tap”

Spyro Gyra: Vinyl TapSpyro Gyra has returned with their first album of new material in six years by releasing a collection of covers. Vinyl Tap features reworked versions of classic hits of the vinyl era, and it covers a lot of ground. From The Beatles track “You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away” to the Johnny Rivers hit “Secret Agent Man,” the band put unique spins onto the songs.

Bass master Scott Ambush helps to tie the record together with monster tone and monster grooves. He caters to each track by switching between swing, slap, fretless, and more. Be sure to check his tender fretless solo on “You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away” and the more modern jazz-infused bass feature during “Stolen Moments.”

His slap intro and lines on the Latin reimagining of Cream’s “Sunshine of Your Love” are also stellar:

Vinyl Tap is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Vinyl Tap Track List:

  1. Secret Agent Mash
  2. Sunshine of Your Love
  3. Can’t Find My Way Home
  4. What A Fool Believes
  5. The Cisco Kid
  6. You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away
  7. Tempted
  8. Stolen Moments
  9. Carry On

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. David Desmond

    Been a fan of Spyro Gyra for many years and Scott Ambush’s bass playing is outstanding. Thanks for posting this No Treble.