Pearl Jam Returns with “Gigaton”

Pearl Jam: GigatonPearl Jam has returned with their eleventh studio album, entitled Gigaton, which also marks their first new album in seven years.

“Making this record was a long journey,” guitarist Mike McCready said in a press release. “It was emotionally dark and confusing at times, but also an exciting and experimental road map to musical redemption. Collaborating with my bandmates on Gigaton ultimately gave me greater love, awareness and knowledge of the need for human connection in these times.”

It is, of course, anchored by bassist Jeff Ament, although he switches places with Stone Gossard for the song “Dance of the Clairvoyants.” “I can’t tell you how proud I am about this group of songs,” he writes. “As you know, we took our time and that benefited us taking more chances. We’ve opened some new doors creatively and that’s exciting.”

Check out the slick bass work on the opening track, “Who Ever Said”:

Gigaton is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Gigaton Track List:

  1. Who Ever Said
  2. Superblood Wolfmoon
  3. Dance of the Clairvoyants
  4. Quick Escape
  5. Alright
  6. Seven O’Clock
  7. Never Destination
  8. Take The Long Way
  9. Buckle Up
  10. Comes Then Goes
  11. Retrograde
  12. River Cross

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts