Chris Chaney Anchors Joe Satriani’s “Shapeshifting”

Joe Satriani: ShapeshiftingGuitar wizard Joe Satriani has returned with his 18th studio album, entitled Shapeshifting, which developed out of using the idea of changing as a central theme.

“I started to think that that sounds like 15 different guitar players,” Satriani said. “I know it’s the same guy, because it’s me, but it sounds like I’m really moving into an area where each melody requires me to almost be somebody else.”

Satch put together a core band for the album of drummer Kenny Aronoff, keyboardist Eric Cadieux, and Chris Chaney. The Jane’s Addiction bassist first worked with Satriani on 2013’s Unstoppable Momentum. Hear the guitarist talk about Chaney’s contributions and attributes:

Now hear Chaney drive the groove on the title track:

Shapeshifting is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Shapeshifting Track List:

  1. Shapeshifting
  2. Big Distortion
  3. All for Love
  4. Ali Farka, Dick Dale, an Alien and Me
  5. Teardrops
  6. Perfect Dust
  7. Nineteen Eighty
  8. All My Friends Are Here
  9. Spirits, Ghosts, and Outlaws
  10. Falling Stars
  11. Waiting
  12. Here the Blue River
  13. Yesterday’s Yesterday

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts