Purdie/Fabian/Oswanski Release “Move On!”

Purdie/Fabian/Oswanski: Move On!Last month, we shared an awesome video for “Got Groove? Pt. 2” by bassist Christian Fabian, organist Ron Oswanski, and drum legend Bernard Purdie. Now the trio has released a full album, entitled Move On!, which includes several new compositions and a few covers.

“Basically we just played mostly original songs and a few covers ‘live’ in the studio, no click no punches,” Fabian told us. “Count off and play – you will notice Bernard not even looking at the music on the first song.”

Purdie may not have looked for his cues, but you can tell he like what he was hearing. Check out the trio playing “BPP Blues”:

Tower of Power bandleader Emilio Castillo says, “Christian Fabian, on Bass, is a friend and a musician who gets around, and on ‘Move On’ he’s playing with Bernard Purdie; one of the veteran soul music drummers of all time. I’ve been a fan of Purdie’s since 1967 when he put out ‘Funky Donkey’ and I have great memories of him sitting in with our band Tower of Power in Oakland in 1971. If you wanna see what Purdie’s doing these days check out this CD.”

Move On! is available now on CD through Fabian’s website and as a digital download through Amazon.

Move On! Track List:

  1. The Red Plaza
  2. B P P Blues
  3. Can’t You See (You’re Doin’ Me Wrong)
  4. 84-85
  5. Got Groove? (Pt. 2)
  6. Love You Madly
  7. Move On!
  8. The Battle Hymn of the Republic
  9. So What

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts