New Miles Davis Album Documents “The Lost Septet”

Miles Davis: The Lost SeptetMiles Davis had several important eras over his long career, and with that came several important bands. Often his first and second great quintets are seen as focal points, but truthfully he had the world’s best musicians at his fingertips for his whole life. Now, a newly unearthed live recording captures what is called his “Lost Septet” from his rock and fusion period.

Recorded in Vienna in 1971, The Lost Septet features a band mostly composed from Davis’ Live-Evil band, but this lineup never recorded a studio album. The jazz legend was accompanied by saxophonist Gary Bartz, keyboardist Keith Jarrett, drummer Ndugu Leon Chancler, and percussionists Don Alias and James Mtume Foreman. On electric bass was Michael Henderson, who had started working with Davis the year before.

The Lost Septet is a double album from the concert that was only previously broadcast on radio. They perform a selection of songs from In a Silent Way, Bitches Brew, Jack Johnson, and Live-Evil. Check out Henderson coaxing wild sounds from his bass on “What I Say”:

The Lost Septet is available now on CD or as a digital download.

The Lost Septet Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Directions
  2. Honky Tonk
  3. What I Say
  4. Sanctuary

Disc 2:

  1. It’s About That Time
  2. Yesternow
  3. Funky Tonk
  4. Sanctuary (Reprise)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts