Leo Kottke and Mike Gordon Return with “Noon”

Leo Kottke and Mike Gordon: NoonFor the first time in fifteen years, the duo of guitarist Leo Kottke and Phish bassist Mike Gordon have released a new album together. Noon features eleven new tracks by the duo including originals and covers of “Eight Miles High” by The Byrds and Prince’s “Alphabet St.”, which adds Phish drummer Jon Fishman. The record is also the first studio release from Kottke since their last album, Sixty Six Steps, in 2005.

“The vibe is very different from the other two albums,” says Gordon. “I was hearing a darkness in the material Leo was bringing, and some of the material that I wanted to bring, that I thought just reflected going through 10 more years of life. There are overdubs, but it’s still more like you’re in a cafe or a living room with these two guys. And even when we had drums, we wanted to maintain that feeling.”

“I just knew there was a shape and that we were following it,” Kottke adds. “We were trying to get to that place that we get to in a little room, just chasing each other. We’ve found that at soundchecks, and at my place, or his place, or some motel room. We wanted to get that late night feel. It’s a more intimate record than the others are, I think there are depths to it.”

Hear that intimate sound in this remote recording version of “Flat Top” from Noon:

Noon is available now on digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3). It will be released on CD and vinyl in November.

Noon Track List:

  1. Flat Top
  2. Eight Miles High
  3. I Am Random
  4. Noon To Noon
  5. From The Cradle to the Grave
  6. How Many People Are You
  7. Ants
  8. Sheets
  9. Alphabet St.
  10. Peel
  11. The Only One

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts