The Dead Daisies Release “Holy Ground” With Glenn Hughes

The Dead Daisies: Holy GroundRock and roll supergroup The Dead Daisies have returned with a new album and a new member. Holy Ground is the first to feature rock god Glenn Hughes, who took over bass and vocal duties in late 2019. He joins drummer Deen Castronovo and guitarists Doug Aldrich and David Lowy in the new four-piece formation.

“When we started the new record with Glenn, we knew we had something very special,” Castronovo said. “I’m so proud of this record, more than a lot of others I’ve played on in the past! Glenn along with Doug and David created magic on this. We hope you’ll enjoy it as much as we did recording it.”

Hughes is a former member of Deep Purple and Black Sabbath, not to mention his successful solo career. He hit the ground running with The Dead Daisies.

“The first song I wrote [for Dead Daisies] was the title track, ‘Holy Ground,’” he told American Songwriter. “It was a little different for them, but I really thought this chorus could be big for the band. As soon as we recorded that song, the path was written to do more of this kind of song, so I was able to continue bringing songs in with this kind of vibe.”

The pandemic put a damper on the band’s activities over the past year, but it’s been a fruitful time of creativity for Hughes. “I feel that I will never be completely at the end result until they pour dirt over me, because I’m still a student,” he concluded in his American Songwriter interview. “The art form of writing music and performing is my whole existence. It means everything to me. I’ll always be looking for that missing part of the jigsaw because I’m always searching for that extra piece of magic.” Be sure to also check out “Like No Other (Bassline)” for a killer bass solo.

Holy Ground is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Holy Ground Track List:

  1. Holy Ground (Shake The Memory)
  2. Like No Other (Bassline)
  3. Come Alive
  4. Bustle And Flow
  5. My Fate
  6. Chosen And Justified
  7. Saving Grace
  8. Unspoken
  9. 30 Days In The Hole
  10. Righteous Days
  11. Far Away

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Bargle

    Glenn Hughes is like the Cousin Oliver of rock n roll