Scott Mulvahill Explores Textures on “Surrounded” EP

Scott Mulvahill: SurroundedBassist and singer-songwriter Scott Mulvahill has just released a new EP called Surrounded that presents his style in a new context. He still builds his melodies around his beautiful bass lines, but this time around he’s filling out the harmony with woodwinds and strings instead of a traditional band format. The orchestration helps to add even more depth and emotion to his thoughtful lyrics.

“This EP is an experiment – I wanted to combine my writing and playing style with textures that I had never even come close to exploring,” Mulvahill explains. “The sounds of woodwinds and strings and blending voices, not just as wallpaper behind me but orchestrated in a way that was alive and interactive with the songs. I wanted to make something really unique, and hopefully beautiful, and I think we did.”

Check out the gorgeous opening track, “One Way Road”:

Mulvahill’s new EP is available now on digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3). He’s also releasing a new vinyl record with Surrounded on one side and his Creative Potential EP on the other, which is open to pre-orders through his website.

Surrounded Track List:

  1. One Way Road
  2. I Don’t Need Her Love
  3. No One Anyway
  4. Say I Love You
  5. Up Above My Head (feat. Resound)
  6. The Here and the Now

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts