“Mingus at Carnegie Hall” Gets Deluxe Reissue

Charles Mingus: Mingus at Carnegie HallForty-seven years ago, jazz legend Charles Mingus performed with his amazing band at Carnegie Hall. A live album, aptly named Mingus At Carnegie Hall, was issued as a single LP containing just two extended tracks with “Perdido” on one side and “C Jam Blues” on the other. That left the rest of the two-hour concert on the cutting room floor, a decision Atlantic Records probably made as a business decision since jazz was on the decline in the 1970s.

Now the full concert has been released as a deluxe edition of Mingus At Carnegie Hall. Available in a 2-CD or 3-LP set, the music includes 72 minutes of unreleased material with the original running order of the concert in the correct sequence.

“The deluxe 3LP set features never-before-seen photos taken by original photographer Gosta Peterson and new liner notes by jazz historian and producer, Michael Cuscuna and additional notes by composer and arranger, Sy Johnson,” the Mingus website adds.

The remastered music sound magnificent with Mingus’s bass sounding as large and in charge as his personality. Check out the 22-minute version of “Celia”:

The deluxe edition of Mingus At Carnegie Hall is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Mingus At Carnegie Hall Deluxe Edition Track List:

  1. Introduction
  2. Peggy’s Blue Skylight
  3. Celia
  4. Fables of Faubus
  5. Big Alice
  6. Perdido
  7. C Jam Blues

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts