Ben Allison Releases 14th Album, “Moments Inside”

Ben Allison: Moments InsideArtists have been channeling the uncertainty of recent times into some astounding music. Although much of that has reflected the chaos and confusion, bassist and composer Ben Allison’s creative output is more of a balm. The resulting album, Moments Inside, marks his fourteenth record as a leader.

“As I sat quietly writing the music for this album, letting the ideas come to me, picking up on threads and seeing where they lead, I was expecting the music to echo the pain, anger, and sorrow that was all around. I was surprised to find that it didn’t,” Allison writes. “The music that emerged was optimistic and peaceful. Now that I think about it, I wasn’t writing what I was feeling. Instead, I was writing what I needed.”

Moments Inside features Allison writing for a quartet consisting of himself with guitarists Chico Pinheiro and Steve Cardenas as well as drummer Allan Mednard. Together, they flesh out the bassist’s ideas with an incredible chemistry allowing for sensitive and thoughtful moments. Allison switches between both electric and upright bass to vary the texture. Be sure to check his electric solo on “The Chase”.

Moments Inside is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Moments Inside Track List:

  1. Safe Passage
  2. The Chase
  3. Milton
  4. Voyage of the Nautilus
  5. A Child Sings In Stone
  6. Breakfast with Eric
  7. House Party Starting
  8. The Great Sandero

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts