Amanda Shires Releases “Take It Like A Man” with Jimbo Hart

Amanda Shires: Take It Like A ManSinger/songwriter and violinist Amanda Shires has released her seventh studio album, Take It Like A Man. The record is a highly personal and vulnerable one, with topics including rough patches of her marriage to Jason Isbell. Fortunately, the two are in a good place, but things were rocky when he was recording his latest album, Reunions.

“It was just a war in the studio,” she told Live for Live Music. “It was like a war he was having with himself and with me,” she recalled. “Suddenly in our house, he lived in his own invisible house and there was no windows and no doors and you couldn’t get to him. Like he was there, but he was just impenetrable.”

The heavy emotions translated into amazing music for Take It Like A Man, from sparse ballads to more uplifting numbers. All along the way, Shires is supported by the bass work of Jimbo Hart, who told us “I’m really proud of my work for TILAM. Also, [producer Lawrence Rothman] made me sound like a million bucks.”

Watch Hart back Shires up in the official live version of the title track, “Take It Like A Man”:

Take It Like A Man is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Take It Like A Man Track List:

  1. Hawk For The Dove
  2. Take It Like A Man
  3. Empty Cups
  4. Don’t Be Alarmed
  5. Fault Lines
  6. Here He Comes
  7. Bad Behavior
  8. Stupid Love
  9. Lonely At Night
  10. Everything Has Its Time

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts