Red Hot Chili Peppers Drop Second Album for 2022, “Return of the Dream Canteen”

Red Hot Chili Peppers: Return of the Dream CanteenThe Red Hot Chili Peppers have landed their second album for 2022 with Return of the Dream Canteen, making a one-two punch from April’s release of Unlimited Love. Taken from the same writing and recording sessions with Rick Rubin, the 17-song double album marks the first time the Peppers have released two albums in a year, let alone two double albums.

The band first teased the record with “Tippa My Tongue” with some funky goodness by Flea. In a recent radio interview, he cited his favorite new tracks as the Eddie Van Halen tribute “Eddie,” “Bag of Grins,” and “Handful.” However, it’s the diversity of the songs that he says brings the most to the table.

“The things that I feel most proud of with both of these records this year, but in particular with this one, ‘Return of the Dream Canteen,’ is that I don’t think that we repeat ourselves,” he said. “I think that each song has its own color and takes up its own emotional space on the record. It’s not like a bunch of songs that all sound the same or a bunch of songs that are all trying to be a hit. Each one has its own artistic place. I feel really proud of the whole thing as a piece of work and as a weather system of all different types of weather.”

Hear Flea’s signature bass style on “Eddie”:

Return of the Dream Canteen is available now on CD, vinyl, cassette, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Return of the Dream Canteen Track List:

  1. Tippa My Tongue
  2. Peace and Love
  3. Reach Out
  4. Eddie
  5. Fake as Fu@k
  6. Bella
  7. Roulette
  8. My Cigarette
  9. Afterlife
  10. Shoot Me A Smile
  11. Handful
  12. The Drummer
  13. Bag of Grins
  14. La La La La La La La La
  15. Copperbelly
  16. Carry Me Home
  17. In The Snow

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts