Foo Fighters Grapple with Loss on “But Here We Are”

Foo Fighters: But Here We AreAfter 2021’s pop and disco-inflected Medicine at Midnight, Dave Grohl and Foo Fighters were planning a musical response to it with an “insane prog-rock record.” The singer and multi-instrumentalist hadn’t been able to begin writing it before tragedy struck when drummer Taylor Hawkins died just hours before they were to perform in Bogota, Colombia.

Now the band has returned with their 11th studio album, But Here We Are, which deals with all the emotions of their monumental loss.

“’But Here We Are’ is the new album from Foo Fighters, and marks the bands return after a year of staggering losses, personal introspection and bittersweet remembrances,” the group shares. “A brutally honest and emotionally raw response to everything Foo Fighters have endured recently, ‘But Here We Are’ is a testament to the healing powers of music, friendship and family.”

Grohl himself played the drums on the entire record, with Nate Mendel laying down the bass to create the record’s pocket. But Here We Are draws on the sound and energy of the band’s early days with hard riffs and poignant melodies.

Check out Mendel’s big sound on the album opener “Rescued”:

Just before the album’s release, they revealed that Josh Freese would take up the drum throne for them. The band will be touring throughout the year.

But Here We Are is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

But Here We Are Track List:

  1. Rescued
  2. Under You
  3. Hearing Voices
  4. But Here We are
  5. The Glass
  6. Nothing At All
  7. Show Me How
  8. Beyond Me
  9. The Teacher
  10. Rest

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts