the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Mark Clarke Releases “Moving To The Moon”

Mark Clarke: Moving To The MoonFor 40 years, Mark Clarke has been asked to make his own solo album by friends and fans. The veteran bassist, who performed with Colosseum, Uriah Heep, Natural Gas and others has finally listened.

Moving To The Moon is 10 tracks of “new classic rock”, blended together by a bassist able to draw from decades of experience.

Clarke was born in Liverpool, a virtually unknown place until the Beatles put it on the map. It was the Beatles and other groups that inspired Clarke to pick up the bass at age 12, and after performing with various local groups, he moved to London. That’s where he met Clem Clempson, who had just joined the well known band Colosseum. Clarke’s band opened for Colosseum, who was quietly looking for a new bassist, and asked Clarke to do a session on their new album. Clarke was there to sing backing vocals on a couple of tracks and noticed a bass on a stand. Band leader Jon Hiseman asked Clarke if he knew the Jack Bruce tune “Theme from an Imaginary Western”, and after Clarke performed it, the band offered him the gig.

Clarke later formed Natural Gas with Joey Molland and joined Uriah Heep on tour, with just two day’s notice.

“In 1972 Colosseum folded and within just two days I had been asked to join Uriah Heep,” Mark recalls. “After recording and also writing (I co-writ ‘The Wizard’) and some of the hardest touring I’ve ever done in just one year we parted company. Although I have worked with Ken Hensley on many of his solo projects throughout the years Uriah Heep still follows me every place I go.”

Clarke recently toured again with Colosseum for their 40th anniversary and is set to tour with Billy Squier this year.

Preview and download Moving To The Moon:

Moving To The Moon Track List:

  1. One Of These Days
  2. A Cowboy’s Song
  3. Without You
  4. Modeleine
  5. You Save The Day
  6. The Falling
  7. Heaven and Hell
  8. Movin’ to the Moon
  9. Then Forever Comes
  10. A Little Something