Mike Watt to Reunite With fIREHOSE; Releases Album with Spielgusher

Mike Watt2012 is shaping up to be a busy year for punk rock icon Mike Watt, with the and the announcement that fIREHOSE will be reuniting in April. The group, which was formed by Watt and fellow Minutemen member George Hurley after frontman D. Boon’s death, hasn’t played together since 1994. The band has revealed two weeks of dates, including a performance at the Coachella Festival.

According to his recent interview with Rolling Stone, fIREHOSE guitarist/singer Edward Crawford approached Watt about a reunion.

“Edward asked me last year if we would do some gigs again,” the veteran bassist explained. “I have to kind of plan things in advance, because I have so much going on, and that third opera, Hyphenated-Man, was coming out, so I said, ‘Edward, can we wait until next year? I’m a little busy right now.’ The time opened up, so I said, ‘OK, let’s try and do some gigs.’ He just put together a set list for us, so I’ll try and re-learn the songs.”

Watt also mentioned that Crawford is currently writing material and that a new album may be in the future.

fIREHOSE Tour Dates:

  • April 5, 2012: Sacramento, CA – Harlow’s
  • April 6, 2012: Portland, OR – Doug Fir
  • April 7, 2012: Seattle, WA – Neumos
  • April 9, 2012: Bellingham, WA – Wild Buffalo House of Music
  • April 10, 2012: Eugene, OR – WOW Hall
  • April 11, 2012: San Francisco, CA – Slim’s
  • April 12, 2012: Santa Cruz, CA – Historic Coconut Grove Ballroom
  • April 13, 2012: Fresno, CA – Fulton 55
  • April 14, 2012: Indio, CA – Coachella Music Festival
  • April 17, 2012: Phoenix, AZ – Crescent Ballroom
  • April 18, 2012: Flagstaff, AZ – Orpheum Theatre
  • April 19, 2012: Tucson, AZ – Plush
  • April 20, 2012: Indio, CA – Coachella Music Festival

SpeilgusherWatt also recently released an collaborative album with rock critic Richard Meltzer in a new band named Spielgusher. The self-titled debut features 63 tracks of spoken word by Meltzer over music laid down by Watt, drummer Yuko Araki and guitarist Hirotaka Shimizu of the Japanese group Cornelius.

The eclectic collaboration was first planned out over 25 years ago with the Minutemen, but again was stopped short D. Boon’s death. Another of Meltzer’s credits includes writing the lyrics for Blue Oyster Cult’s “Burnin’ For You.”

Preview and download Spielgusher:

Spielgusher Track List:

  1. This Limp Tempting Talked
  2. the threshold of transgression
  3. Begins With S
  4. So White
  5. Life
  6. Red Shirt
  7. enter my thumb
  8. Scissors
  9. Fuck Awareness Week
  10. USE
  11. Scram The Me Scene
  12. topsy, part 4
  13. Geezerology
  14. Generic Death Poem
  15. Minus Five And Counting
  16. Gotta
  17. a nonfatal jackoff on the moon
  18. Columbus
  19. Kerouac
  20. Half
  21. About
  22. Always
  23. portlandium
  24. Lard
  25. Morozashi
  26. The Man Who Thought Death Was Dying
  27. Last Will And Test
  28. albanese
  29. Red Herring
  30. Raised And Showing
  31. Seven Seas Of Love
  32. the flight of gregory corso
  33. IF YOU DON’T
  34. Out Of Smokes
  35. The Sonny Liston Fan Club
  36. Person Who’s Dead (For Wild Man Fischer)
  37. whistle while you strobe
  38. Chowder,Anyone?
  39. The Valium Restaurant
  40. Metal
  41. Tropic Of Nipples
  42. Bottomless
  43. parmenides
  44. Meetcha
  45. The Attics O’ My Life
  46. Props
  47. Good Fight
  48. jessie don’t like fish
  49. O.K. With You?
  50. The Three Of Us
  51. Heaven Sometimes Beer
  52. Texas
  53. hopper meets sparky
  54. Fuck My Sister
  55. Home At Last
  56. Premenstral
  57. Sick Persons Car
  58. surf pus
  59. Corduroy
  60. Art Pepper Is Not A Happy Man
  61. Veins
  62. Pixtures, Please!
  63. neck like a slick tulip

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Ummm…Ed Crawford, aka Ed fROMOHIO, was not in the Minutemen.