the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Black Country Communion’s Next Album May Be Their Last, Says Glenn Hughes

Black Country Communion: AfterglowDue out October 30th, Black Country Communion’s third album Afterglow may be the supergroup’s last, according to bassist/vocalist Glenn Hughes. In an interview with ABC News Radio, the former Deep Purple bassist broke the news, citing the fact that guitarist Joe Bonamassa’s heavy solo touring leaves little time for the band to hit the road. As such, there are no current plans for Black Country Communion to tour in support of the new effort.

“This may be the [band’s] last album,” Hughes stated. “I hate to break it to you, but it just may be, because I need to be in a band that tours on a regular basis. If I had a magic wand, I would wave it over everybody’s head and go, ‘Hey, you guys, we’re gonna go and do 200 shows [in 2013] and we’re gonna be a huge rock ‘n’ roll band globally. It’s not gonna happen.”

The bassist added that the predicament helped fuel the tracks on Afterglow, saying that if it was to be the last album he wanted to “come in with some pretty wild and epic tracks” and that he was proud of the album.

Afterglow Track List:

  1. Big Train
  2. This Is Your Time
  3. Midnight Sun
  4. Confessor
  5. Cry Freedom
  6. Afterglow
  7. Dandelion
  8. The Circle
  9. Common Man
  10. The Giver
  11. Crawl