The Winery Dogs – Billy Sheehan, Mike Portnoy and Richie Kotzen – Release Debut Album and Start Tour

The Winery DogsThe new supergroup known as The Winery Dogs has released their self-titled debut album.

Formed by bassist Billy Sheehan, drummer Mike Portnoy and guitarist/vocalist Richie Kotzen, the group worked on the album last year. As we reported in December, the project originally included John Sykes, but due to conflicts in schedules and work styles, the group decided to replace him with Sheehan’s Mr. Big bandmate, Kotzen.

The 13-track album is one Portnoy describes as having a “classic-rock kind of power-trio sound” and influenced by Led Zeppelin, Cream, Jimi Hendrix, Grand Funk Railroad and others.

Following the release of the music video for the first track, “Elevate”, the band has released the video for “I’m No Angel”:

The Winery Dogs is out now on CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The band is hitting the road in support of the new release, with the following tour dates announced:

  • July 24, 2013: Teatro Rival Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
  • July 26, 2013: Carioca Club Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • July 27, 2013: Music Hall – Belo Horizonte Belo Horizonte, Brazil
  • July 28, 2013: Opinião Porto Alegre, Brazil
  • July 30, 2013: Teatro Nescafe Del Arte Santiago, Chile
  • August 1, 2013: TEATRO FLORES Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • August 3, 2013: B.B. King Blues Club and Grill New York, NY
  • August 4, 2013: Chameleon Club Lancaster, PA
  • August 7, 2013: Newton Theater Newton, NJ
  • August 8, 2013: Reggie’s Chicago, IL
  • September 5, 2013: O2 Academy Islington London, United Kingdom
  • September 6, 2013: Boerderij Zoetermeer, Netherlands
  • September 7, 2013: Garage Sarrebruck, Germany
  • September 9, 2013: Colos-Saal Aschaffenburg, Germany
  • September 10, 2013: Knust Hamburg, Germany
  • September 11, 2013: Lido Berlin, Germany
  • September 13, 2013: Theaterfabrik Munich, Germany
  • September 14, 2013: Gloria Cologne, Germany
  • September 15, 2013: La Maroquinerie Paris, France
  • September 17, 2013: Z7 Konzertfabrik Pratteln, Switzerland
  • September 18, 2013: Live Club Trezzo Sull’adda Mi, Italy
  • September 19, 2013: Substage Karlsruhe, Germany
  • September 21, 2013: Apolo Barcelona, Spain
  • September 22, 2013: Joy Eslava Madrid, Spain
  • September 23, 2013: Paradise Garage Lisbon, Portugal
  • October 3, 2013: The Canyon Agoura Hills, CA
  • October 4, 2013: Vamp’d Las Vegas, NV
  • October 5, 2013: Ramona Mainstage Ramona, CA
  • October 6, 2013: The Coach House San Juan Capistrano, CA
  • October 8, 2013: Harlow’s Restaurant and Nightclub Sacramento, CA
  • October 9, 2013: Yoshi’s San Francisco, CA

The Winery Dogs Track List:

  1. Elevate
  2. Desire
  3. We Are One
  4. I’m No Angel
  5. The Other Side
  6. You Saved Me
  7. Not Hopeless
  8. One More Time
  9. Damaged
  10. Six Feet Deeper
  11. Time Machine
  12. The Dying
  13. Regret

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. despite the respect I have for most of those musicians, this sounds totally old, flat and uncreative. I just can’t believe people do in 2013 such things which sound another age. If someone like this then I’m pretty sure he is either old and/or has no idea (and don’t matter) of what happened in Rock last 20 years. And what is even more disturbing is the fact that they get lucky to be promoted here, not for the project they did, but for the name they have; because if you promote that then there would be thousands bands to promote before this one.
    i wont even comment the interest of such a bass line on such a bass forum.. (despite the respect I have for Sheehan.)