Jeff Hughell Releases “Chaos Labyrinth”

Jeff Hughell: Chaos LabyrinthWhen you play bass for more than one prominent metal band, you’re bound to make friends with some of the best heavy musicians out there. That’s precisely the case for bassist Jeff Hughell, who has recruited his friends to guest on his first full length solo album, Chaos Labyrinth.

Hughell, who lays down the low end for death metal outfits Six Feet Under and Reciprocal, called on drummers Alex Bent and Kevin Talley, keyboardist Marc Gilson, and guitarists Ola Englund, Matt Sotelo, Nick Avlonitis, and Tyler Layne.

Bass madness ensues on the title track, which features guest appearances by metal royalty with solos by Cannibal Corpse’s Alex Webster, fretless monster Steve DiGiorgio and Sean Martinez. Brian Wood also provides second bass on the opening track, “Chaotic Implosion.”

While the album has an overall heavy vibe, the styles range from slow and melodic to blistering tapping licks as Hughell makes good use of the full range of his instrument. If you dig metal, this is definitely an album worth checking out.

Chaos Labyrinth is out now on CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Chaos Labyrinth Track List:

  1. Chaotic Implosion
  2. Society Hangover
  3. Chaos Labyrinth
  4. Still
  5. Grout Polygraph
  6. Evolution
  7. Jagermeister Death Grind
  8. Dreams of Chaos
  9. Purified Annihilation
  10. Let It Go

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts