Ugly Kid Joe Releases First Full-Length Studio Album Since 1996

Ugly Kid Joe: Uglier Than They Used Ta BeUgly Kid Joe has released its first full-length album in 19 years: Uglier Than They Used Ta Be.

The record, featuring bassist Cordell Crockett, who has been with the band throughout all incarnations since 1991, was completely crowdfunded in a few weeks earlier this year. The band is most well known for its early 1990s records like the hit, “Everything About You,” and the album title is a play on the band’s first hit EP, As Ugly As They Wanna Be.

The band reformed in 2010 after a 1997 breakup and the new album is the first issued since the reunion. They did release the Stairway to Hell EP in 2012. The group’s last full studio album was 1996’s Motel California.

Check out their version of “Papa Was a Rolling Stone” from the new record:

Uglier Than They Used Ta Be is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Uglier Than They Used Ta Be Track List:

  1. Hell Ain’t Hard To Find
  2. Let The Record Play
  3. Bad Seed
  4. Mirror of The Man
  5. She’s Already Gone
  6. Nothing Ever Changes
  7. My Old Man
  8. Under The Bottom
  9. Ace of Spades
  10. The Enemy
  11. Papa was a Rolling Stone

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts