Wilco’s Newest Is Joyously Negative

Wilco: SchmilcoWilco’s 10th studio album, Schmilco, (the title a nod to Harry Nilsson’s 1971 Nilsson Schmilsson) is garnering praise for its relaxed feel and its self-described joyous negativity.

Featuring the work of founding bassist John Stirratt, the album from the Chicago band is “sad in a lot of ways but not in any that reach a conclusion of doom or hopelessness,” said bandleader Jeff Tweedy. “I just had a lot of fun being sour about the things that upset me.”

Take a listen to how that viewpoint plays out on “Someone to Lose”:

Schmilco is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Schmilco Track List:

  1. Normal American Kids
  2. If I Ever Was a Child
  3. Cry All Day
  4. Common Sense
  5. Nope
  6. Someone to Lose
  7. Happiness
  8. Quarters
  9. Locator
  10. Shrug and Destroy
  11. We Aren’t the World (Safety Girl)
  12. Just Say Goodbye

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts