Al Jarreau with Marcus Miller: Tenderness Studio Session

The world lost another music icon this weekend with the passing of jazz vocalist Al Jarreau. His distinct voice and style were adored by many, and his dedication to his art inspired, even more, musicians.

Bass legend Marcus Miller shared this video of Jarreau’s 1994 “Tenderness” live in the studio session on Facebook in memory of the singer. “I can’t even begin to say what this man means to me,” Miller wrote. “Thank you, Al Jarreau, for the opportunity to work with you, to laugh with you, to know you. I am grateful for our time together and will miss you.”

Miller is in top form, laying down tasteful bass lines on each song. He brings his warm fingerstyle to the ballads, but be sure to check his signature slapping on “You Don’t See Me” around the 6:30 mark.

Song list:

  1. Try A Little Tenderness
  2. You Don’t See Me
  3. Your Song
  4. Summertime
  5. Go Away Little Girl
  6. Mas Que Nada
  7. Dinosaur
  8. We Got By (feat. David Sanborn)
  9. Wait For The Magic
  10. She’s Leaving Home

Get the Daily Bass Video in your inbox.

Sign up to get the daily bass video delivered to you.

Share your thoughts