Chris Hillman’s First Solo Albums Reissued As “The Asylum Years”

Chris Hillman: The Asylum YearsChris Hillman’s first two solo albums have been reissued on a new CD called The Asylum Years. The country-rock pioneer started his solo career with 1976’s Slippin’ Away, with Clear Sailin’ following the next year.

Though Hillman laid down the low end for the iconic bands The Byrds and The Flying Burrito Brothers, he only played bass on two tracks from his Slippin’ Away. Instead he filled the album with top call studio musicians including bassists Lee Sklar, Donald “Duck” Dunn, and Jim Fielder. Clear Sailin’ featured a more set group of players with Loggins and Messina bassist Larry Sims.

Hear Dunn’s signature style on Hillman’s song “Blue Morning”:

The album will also include an essay by Scott Schinder featuring a new interview with Hillman. The Asylum Years is available via Amazon.

The Asylum Years Track List:

  1. Step on out
  2. Slippin’ Away
  3. Falling Again
  4. Take It on the Run
  5. Blue Morning
  6. Witching Hour
  7. Down in the Churchyard
  8. Love Is the Sweetest Amnesty
  9. Midnight Again
  10. (Take Me in Your) Lifeboat
  11. Nothing Gets Through
  12. Fallen Favorite
  13. Quits
  14. Hot Dusty Roads
  15. Heartbreaker
  16. Playing the Fool
  17. Lucky in Love
  18. Rollin’ and Tumblin’
  19. Ain’t That Peculiar
  20. Clear Sailin’

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts