Khruangbin Releases “Mordechai”

Khruangbin: MordechaiKhruangbin has predominantly been an instrumental band, focusing on blending sonic textures from surf-rock to dub to funk, until now. Bassist Laura Lee found inspiration from a friend and discovered her expression in lyrics to create the new album, Mordechai. That friend helped her realize she needed to slow down and take time to create.

“It’s a lesson Lee had recently learned with the help of a new friend, a near-stranger who had reached out when she was feeling particularly unmoored, inviting her to come hiking with his family,” the band explains. “That day, as they’d all made their way toward the distant promise of a waterfall, Lee had felt a dawning clarity about the importance of appreciating the journey, rather than rushing headlong toward the next destination—something she’d almost lost sight of during the band’s whirlwind rise. When they reached the waterfall at last, Lee’s friend urged her to jump, a leap she likens to a baptism. As she did, he screamed her name—her full name, the one she’d recently taken from her grandfather. In that instant, Laura Lee Ochoa was reborn. She emerged feeling liberated, grateful for what her friend had shown her. His name was Mordechai.”

Ochoa’s ethereal vocals are the perfect complement to her old school bass tone and classic sense of groove. Get a taste of the new sound on “So We Won’t Forget”:

Mordechai is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Mordechai Track List:

  1. First Class
  2. Time (You and I)
  3. Connaissais de Face
  4. Father Bird, Mother Bird
  5. If There is No Question
  6. Pelota
  7. One to Remember
  8. Dearest Alfred
  9. So We Won’t Forget
  10. Shida

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts