David Ellefson Releases Star-Studded “No Cover” Album

David Ellefson: No CoverDavid Ellefson is keeping things rolling with a new solo album called No Cover, which he released simply under the name Ellefson. Although his name takes top billing, the Megadeth bassist tapped his huge pool of talented friends to cover some of his favorite rock and metal songs from the 70s and 80s.

“I hope you enjoy the record. It was meant to be something fun to do here in this strange, unprecedented time and to bring our friends together to record some heavy metal, some hard rock, and some ballads.”

Ellefson tapped members of Anthrax, Crobot, Sacred Reich, Megadeth, and many more to create the record. Together they cover songs by other bands like Cheap Trick, The Dead Kennedys, Aerosmith, and more.

Check out the bassist with Ministry vocalist Al Jourgensen and Anthrax drummer Charlie Benante on Cheap Trick’s “Auf Wiedersehen”:

No Cover is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3). A vinyl version will be coming in February.

No Cover Track List:

CD 1:

  1. Freewheel burning
  2. Tear it loose
  3. Love me like a reptile
  4. Holiday in Cambodia
  5. Rebel yell
  6. Wasted
  7. Riff raff
  8. Nailed to the gun
  9. Not fragile
  10. Auf Wiedersehen

CD 2:

  1. Love machine
  2. Love hurts
  3. Eat the rich
  4. Sheer heart attack
  5. Over the mountain
  6. Sweet F.A.
  7. Beth
  8. Say what you will
  9. Downed

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Robert Shaw

    Nice review but you should remove Aerosmith from the list of artists that are covered on this recording because “Eat The Rich” is the version Krokus did on their Headhunter album in 1984.